For aviation updates, click here for more information.

Shefa is one of the six provinces of Vanuatu, located in the center of the country. The province's name is derived from the initial letters of Shepherd Islands, Epi, and Efate which make up the province.

With a population of 78,723 people and an area of 1,455 kmĀ², it is home to the nation's capital city Port Vila located on mainland Efate.

The Shefa Islands are volcanic, and limestone/raised reef in origin with one active volcano on Epi - only sporadically active, and other underwater and extinct volcanoes are scattered throughout the province.

Shefa is made up of approximately 27 islands, Efate being the most populated located and surrounded by several smaller islands: Iririki, Ifira, Eratap, Erakor, Erueti Lep, Eratoka (Hat), Lelepa, Moso, Nguna, Pele, Kakuhla, and Emao. To the north are the Shepherd Islands which includes Naore, Etarik, Matasao, Makura, Emae, Buninga, Tongariki, Tongoa, Ewose, and Laika. Past Shepherd islands lies Epi, and Tefala, Namuka and Lamen. Some of these islands are uninhabited.

With many great snorkelling spots, you can even sight endangered species such as turtles and dugongs near Erakor Island and marine sanctuaries.

Marine sanctuaries are popular to attempt preserving marine life around Shefa, although traditional methods of conservation have also been highly effective. This movement is also an effort to promote sustainable tourism through the Efate Land Management Area, the Nikaura Marine Protected Area on Epi, the Nguna-Pele Marine Protected Area Network at north Efate, and the Hideaway Marine Sanctuary at Hideaway Island.