COVID-19 TRAVEL ADVISORY for Vanuatu #8, issued 20 March 2020: all ports of entry closed until further notice.

Tafea Day Public Holiday

Events At Tafea,vanuatu Tanna, Vanuatu

Start your journey with us...

Tuesday 5th September
10:06 pm - 12:06pm

Tags: vanuatu , events , family , publicholiday , holiday


Tafea is the southernmost of the six provinces of Vanuatu and Tafea Day is celebrated on the 8th October every year.

The name is an acronym for the five main islands that make up the province:Tanna,Aneityum,Futuna,Erromango andAniwa.

Unlike the other provinces of Vanuatu, the territorial integrity of this administrative unit has been unchanged since the times of the Condominium, when it was called Southern District, or Tanna after the main island. Only the capital moved from Lenakel to nearby Isangel, less than two kilometers more southeast.
A secessionist movement began in the 1970s, and the Nation of Tanna was proclaimed on March 24, 1974. While the British were more open to allowing its holdings in Vanuatu independence, it was opposed by the French colonists and finally suppressed by the Anglo-French Condominium authorities on June 29, 1974.
In 1980, there was another attempt to secede, declaring the Tafea Nation on January 1, 1980, its name coming from the initials of the five islands that were to be part of the nation (Tanna, Aniwa, Futuna, Erromango and Aneityum). British forces intervened on May 26, 1980, allowing the islands to become part of the newly independent nation of Vanuatu on July 30, 1980.

2017-09-05 10:06:26
2017-09-05 12:06:26